Trinity College Dublin

Skip to main content.

Core links


The unit of currency in Ireland is the Euro (€).

1 euro (€1.00) is equal to 100 cent (100c). There are 1c, 2c, 5c, 10c, 20c, 50c, €1.00 and €2.00 coins. Notes are in €5, €10, €20, €50 and €100, €200 and €500 denominations. Irish bank notes are protected against forgery by watermarks, tactile paper and metal strips. The easiest way to check the validity of a note is to ensure there is a metal strip running through the note by scrapping the strip with a fingernail, though this is not, obviously, conclusive.

Last updated 21 August 2009 by Dublin Life (Email).